Writing is Fun!

I’m about twenty minutes from dashing out the door to attend a holiday ceremony at the local paper. They ran a short-short story contest for Christmas stories. Now, the local team is very supportive of our Florida Writers Association group here in St. Augustine. And because journalists and freelancers are kindred spirits, I do all I can to support what they’re up to, too. So, I entered the contest and ended up a finalist! Tonight we find out who won, but since I’m excited to have made the final round, I’m already feeling quite the winner. And I think there’s going to be refreshments, too!

But another super fun thing for today? The memoir I wrote for Isiah Grayer, Jr., named MIRACLE BOY, arrived in the mail from the publisher! It’s a feeling that I cannot describe when something you’ve worked on for more than a year is turned into something that will reside on your bookshelf for the rest of your life. I’m so pleased and excited that I’m not sure I’ll be able to sit still tonight at the ceremony.

I cannot recommend short story writing strongly enough to EVERY writer! In addition to honing strong writing skills, you get to finish a story in less than a year, and sometimes, you can even win a pat on the back for it!

Since pats on the back aren’t all that common any more, I recommend you look for every opportunity to give them, as well as receive them.

Remember Word Warriors, keep writing!

Nancy Q.

Miracle Boy

Avail 12/20/10

About NL Quatrano

Award-winning author, speaker, editor and ghost writer, Nancy owns a full-time editing, writing and specialty publishing business: On-Target Words/WC Publishing. Volunteer/member of professional writing organizations including Florida Writers Assoc., Sisters in Crime, and AWAI. 2010 Professional Woman of the Year by the NAPW. Linked in Editor Pick May 2013. International Women's Leadership Association nominee for Outstanding Leadership 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

