FIND YOUR OWN PATH:CHRIS REDDING

Chris and I met when we were both members of a large writing group in NJ. She’s always been a determined mother, wife, EMT, writer and friend. Her published novel, THE DRINKING GAME, is an incredibly hard-hitting and insightful book. I’ll be ordering her latest novel, A VIEW TO A KILT, later in the week. She lives in New Jersey with her husband, two kids, one dog and three rabbits. She graduated from Penn State with a degree in Journalism and a minor in English. When she isn’t writing, she works part time for her local hospital.

I’m tickled pink to introduce you to my friend, Chris Redding.

 

 

I’m a little odd. I know this. I’m okay with this.

We are all odd in my house and I know for the most part we are okay with it. We don’t watch American Idol. In fact we watch very little network television. It’s not snobbery, but we’d rather watch old episodes of Frasier or Top Gear (the British one of course.)

Even my path to adulthood was different. Oh I grew up like others, but I put myself through college. I dated my husband for only nine months before I married him. And about six months after we married I was following his career around Europe.

When Nancy invited me as her guest blogger, she mentioned my interesting path to publication. I never thought about it that way, but I guess it has been that.

I began my career with Wings Press, an e-publisher, but if we paid for the set up fees, we could get our book in print, and that’s what I did, so my first release was both electronic and in print. The next sale was to a small Canadian publisher. That one went out of business. Then another publisher, Tiger Publications, went under before the book was even released. Sigh.

My husband jokes that he doesn’t know the names of my publishers, but if he Googled “Publishers Gone Out of Business,” most of mine would be on that list.

I think I’ve finally broken the streak. INCENDIERY is with Sinful Moments, an imprint of LBF Books which has been around for awhile. A VIEW TO A KILT is with Echelon Press which seems like a healthy company. Lord knows the publisher (Karen Syed) does everything in her power to help us be successful.

On top of the traditional publications, I’ve put my two backlist books, CORPSE WHISPERER and THE DRINKING GAME out on Kindle. And a book of short stories. Hm. Okay. my path is different.

But like I’ve been saying. That’s okay. It’s my path. I wouldn’t be comfortable taking someone else’s path. As I tell my kids, they have to find their way in the world and it may not be the way everyone else is going.

Knowing my family, it probably won’t be.

Might be good to realize that if your path looks unique too, that doesn’t mean you won’t realize your dreams.

Thanks to Nancy for having me today.

Where you can find me:
http://www.chrisreddingauthor.com
http://chrisredddingauthor.blogspot.com
www.facebook.com/chrisreddingauthor
www.twitter.com/chrisredding

Cover Copy for A View to a Kilt:
Waking up next to a dead guy can ruin your whole day. When a wise-cracking interior decorator wants to put her past behind her, the dead body of the mayor’s son makes her realize that won’t happen too easily. A conservative former computer geek for the FBI is holding on too tightly to his past. His wife died under suspicious circumstances and he believes the decorator has the information to solve the case. Unfortunately for him, she isn’t speaking until a series of events convinces her she needs protection especially when her biggest secret threatens to destroy both of their lives.

Available wherever e-books are sold!

About NL Quatrano

Award-winning author, speaker, editor and ghost writer, Nancy owns a full-time editing, writing and specialty publishing business: On-Target Words/WC Publishing. Volunteer/member of professional writing organizations including Florida Writers Assoc., Sisters in Crime, and AWAI. 2010 Professional Woman of the Year by the NAPW. Linked in Editor Pick May 2013. International Women's Leadership Association nominee for Outstanding Leadership 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FIND YOUR OWN PATH:CHRIS REDDING

  1. Hi Chris,
    I’m always a supporter of fellow Wings authors. I use to write for Wings to.(Judy Leigh Peters). Nice interview. I will check on your book at Amazon. Sounds like a great read!
    Blessings,
    Judy aka Judith Leigh

Leave a Reply

