Running Blind

 

Mt. McKinley

This morning, just twenty minutes after the sunrise, I was on the road, when it just sort of “vanished.” After days of cold temperatures, the relatively mild morning produced the kind of fog that springs up out of nowhere and forms such a thick blanket that what was clear for a mile ahead is suddenly barely visible even for a few feet.
How like my writing career, and my life for that matter, the situation seemed to parallel. I’m trucking along, sure that my plan for success/relationships/prosperity/good health (pick which one, it doesn’t matter) is the right one, and then WHAM! I’m mired down in what feels like insurmountable obstacles and challenges and I can’t “see” where I’m going further than the next moment in time. I’m only just learning that this moment is the only one I need to attend to.
Although I’ve been actively on a faith journey since I was in my twenties (MANY years ago), of late I’ve realized in my core, that there is nothing I need to figure out. No perfect plan I need in place. God’s already written the manual for life, all I need to do is read it, do what it says, and, stay in touch with the Author on a regular basis. I don’t need to see miles up the road; I just need to have faith that in his love and grace he will show me the way. I don’t need to worry about running into insurmountable challenges; I just need to obey the speed limit, keep my eyes and ears open, and keep moving forward.
I hope you learn to embrace the “fog” and enjoy the journey! God gave you your talents to be used to His glory. If you’re doing that, the fog will lift and you’ll see that all is better than you could ever imagine.
NQ

About NL Quatrano

Award-winning author, speaker, editor and ghost writer, Nancy owns a full-time editing, writing and specialty publishing business: On-Target Words/WC Publishing. Volunteer/member of professional writing organizations including Florida Writers Assoc., Sisters in Crime, and AWAI. 2010 Professional Woman of the Year by the NAPW. Linked in Editor Pick May 2013. International Women's Leadership Association nominee for Outstanding Leadership 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Blind

  1. Jack Owen says:

    Enjoy your comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

