DAILY WRITING

American Profile (americanprofile.com) Southeast Edition Feb 5-11, featured an article titled, The Power of the Pen: How daily writing enhances lives and relationships.
It was a great piece about the power of journaling and old-fashioned letter writing. And, while I still write letters on occasion, and often encourage people to diary or journal as often as they can (especially during tough times,) the only kind of daily writing that fires me up, is working on a short story or one of my novels-in-progress.
I have a day job that involves a lot of written communication. In fact, I have so little human interaction in a day that I could really do my job from a cave in Nebraska as long as there was a good computer and Internet access. And, at the end of a long day of handling hundreds of pages of documents and generally 150 -200 new emails per day, when I get home, I want to enter the land of Make Believe.
Under the pen name of Lynn Kathleen, JJ Dumont and I are penning our second southern women’s mystery in our Amazing Grace Trucking series, called Old Faithful. As a member of the Rogues Gallery Writers, I’ve just finished edits on my portion of the 4-person novel, THE METHOD WRITERS which is due to be released in about eight weeks. (For a peak, visit TheMethodWriters.com.)
Like many writers, I fit writing into my day the best that I can. I hold myself accountable to 500 words (approx two pages) a day, six days a week. Now, some days those 500 words are blogs. Some days those words are a burning short story that won’t stop bugging me until I get it on paper, at least in first draft form. But, SOME DAYS I get to work on the current novel and get lost in a world that I help to create.
Yes of course, Faith, Hope, and Grace are women who have all the problems and challenges that you and I have. They’ve loved and lost, they’ve had to figure out that forgiveness is stronger than hatred, they’ve had to face losing their homes and their kids. But I know they’ll get justice in their life. I know they’ll eventually accept and appreciate all of God’s blessings in their lives. I know they’ll make it to the third book in the series – because JJ and I control things in the land of Make Believe.
So, while real life is wonderful and I am very thankful for all the grace, wonderful friends, and amazing prosperity I’m blessed with, it’s really nice to visit the land of Make Believe. At least for 500 words a day!

Keep writing!
NQ

About NL Quatrano

Award-winning author, speaker, editor and ghost writer, Nancy owns a full-time editing, writing and specialty publishing business: On-Target Words/WC Publishing. Volunteer/member of professional writing organizations including Florida Writers Assoc., Sisters in Crime, and AWAI. 2010 Professional Woman of the Year by the NAPW. Linked in Editor Pick May 2013. International Women's Leadership Association nominee for Outstanding Leadership 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DAILY WRITING

  1. hey there!
    I read that you write under the pen name, Lynn Kathleen.
    My middle name is Lynne and my mom’s name is Cathleen…pretty cool!

    • NL Quatrano says:

      WOW!!! Isn’t that too cool!! I’m delighted we have that connection, for sure!! Hope you’ll still blog with me – I’d love for readers to get to know Xia and all her friends!

  2. TheOthers1 says:

    I shoot for 1K words. If I get 500 words, that’s good too. I like escaping into make believe for a while as well. It makes managing real life easier. Nice post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

