WHAT DO READERS WANT?

For those of you who follow this blog and are fiction writers, I relay this information from an Amazon.com article, in hopes that it is useful when you are writing. For those of you who are readers, please leave me a comment regarding what YOU are looking for when you read! Are you NYT best seller reader?  Why?  There could be a $10 STARBUCKS card in it for you – winner to be drawn out of a Stetson next week!

1. Compelling covers
2. Strong hook
3. Unique and descriptive setting
4. Strong writing
5. Subject matter expertise
6. Easy to follow storyline
7. Believable characters
8. Surprises
9. Character growth
10. Realistic dialog
11. Fast pacing
12. Vivid emotion

Don’t forget – let me know what you, as a reader, find most important in the books you want to read. OR – let me know what you hate about the books you are finding on the bookstore shelves!

Wednesday – Sharon Buck of BookAuthorsTour.com will be here to share some “don’t miss” tips with you!

Wishing you good reading and writing!! NQ

About NL Quatrano

Award-winning author, speaker, editor and ghost writer, Nancy owns a full-time editing, writing and specialty publishing business: On-Target Words/WC Publishing. Volunteer/member of professional writing organizations including Florida Writers Assoc., Sisters in Crime, and AWAI. 2010 Professional Woman of the Year by the NAPW. Linked in Editor Pick May 2013. International Women's Leadership Association nominee for Outstanding Leadership 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WHAT DO READERS WANT?

  1. Chelle says:

    Hi Nancy,
    If I had to pick the top three reasons I buy a book, it would be 1) favorite author; 2) mystery genre; and 3) plot. What would draw me to a new author are recommendations, such as the magazine Book Pages, which I pick up in my local library. I’ll check out a book based on the blurb, then I might read the first few pages to see the author’s style. I like a quick read with short chapters. I did find a number of new authors this year. Not all mystery writers, but some had an element of mystery to them. Not sure if they made the Best Seller list, but they should have.

    • NL Quatrano says:

      Thanks, Chelle! I look for my fav authors, too. When I look for new authors, I look at covers and read the blurbs, maybe a page or two, then decide. I’ve read some really good new authors myself, this past summer. I’m not a fan of the BS list, but I do like reader reviews.

  2. Jack Owen says:

    body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}

Leave a Reply

