Quick Bytes: Writing Invitation

Murder in Black and White

Okay, these are probably pretty useless in the scheme of things, but I thought they were fun and we writers tend to get rather intense as we hunch over our keyboards creating perfection. And in some ways, this might have been inspired by the great workshop I attended yesterday, taught by Mark Ari. It was good fun – and I realized how little of that I indulge in these days.

A buddy sent these along in a lengthy list of “Interesting Facts.” I have not checked any of these for factual validity – just PRETEND they are “facts.”

Can you think of a way to use any of these with one of your characters? Want to share it with us? Leave it in the comments so we can all see what your character is up to! My character, A. J. Buchanan (Murder in Black and White, Jan 2014) couldn’t wait to get in her two cents – check the parenthesis. Yes, she’s a Florida gal through and through – fast car, big truck, several guns, a good husband, and a heart of gold.

Everything weighs one percent less at the equator. (The first thought I had was that I’m going to have to move – I need all the help I can get…)

Avocados have the highest calories of any fruit at 167 calories per hundred grams. (Hmm, does that mean I have to give them up, too? What about the MUFA’s they contain that are supposed to help me burn fat? Is an avocado like an egg with that good cholesterol/bad cholesterol thing going on?)

In ancient times strangers shook hands to show that they were unarmed. (This doesn’t sound like such a bad idea in modern times, either. I find the urge to shoot someone is reduced when I’ve shaken their hand.)

When a person dies, hearing is the last sense to go. The first sense lost is sight. (I’m a private investigator – how exactly was this documented? Do I even want to know?)

The University of Alaska spans four time zones. (How in the world does anyone know where to be at what time?)

Enjoy every day – keep reading and writing! See you Wednesday!

Nancy Q.

About NL Quatrano

Award-winning author, speaker, editor and ghost writer, Nancy owns a full-time editing, writing and specialty publishing business: On-Target Words/WC Publishing. Volunteer/member of professional writing organizations including Florida Writers Assoc., Sisters in Crime, and AWAI. 2010 Professional Woman of the Year by the NAPW. Linked in Editor Pick May 2013. International Women's Leadership Association nominee for Outstanding Leadership 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

