Ode to Hope

Poetry is not an easy art form. It IS one worth exploring, however. And even though a short story or novel will contain bits and pieces of its author, nothing reveals a spirit like poetry. And no other genre is as flexible in both appearance or purpose.

I hope you enjoy Mike’s words as much as I do every time he does a post. He’s a man who sees the value of words as power; as weapons or gifts, seldom just to educate, but also to inspire or ignite or incite. He’s an awesome man with a wonderful gift – one he only realized he had a decade ago.

Step out on that skinny ledge and fly, writers! That’s the only way to realize any dream. Keep writing and reading! Nancy Q.

Poetry in Black and White

cache_2934977104My Love,

I kept not dying
Purpose staggered through my heart
Sparkle-tinged, gilded hope
A mist-shrouded dream

I kept not dying
Knowing the enemy as futility
A constant companion and slave-master
Anguish and sadness my closest friends

I kept not dying
No other reason than the hopeless hope
No other answer than she “must be”
Years of torment and abuse believed

I kept not dying
Until the night strolling an ocean shore
Fingers slipped into a petite hand
Stars, waves, shrouded hope enthralled

I kept not dying
With only faux hope of little value
A grail for which my life was built
A gauntlet I must quest for or die

I kept not dying
Believing you lived
Believing your kiss awaited my request
Believing your arms would lift my soul

I kept not dying
For nothing I possessed could overcome my despair
Save hope of a love to hold my…

View original post 137 more words

About NL Quatrano

Award-winning author, speaker, editor and ghost writer, Nancy owns a full-time editing, writing and specialty publishing business: On-Target Words/WC Publishing. Volunteer/member of professional writing organizations including Florida Writers Assoc., Sisters in Crime, and AWAI. 2010 Professional Woman of the Year by the NAPW. Linked in Editor Pick May 2013. International Women's Leadership Association nominee for Outstanding Leadership 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

