Learning New Things

ButterflyAll right. It seems to be true that an old dog can be taught new tricks. Or at least, even though I’m now into my 60s, I can still learn new things.

Last week, on Wednesday March 9th, I participated in a FACEBOOK book launch party. I’ve been invited to a few before, but not understanding how to attend, let alone participate (I’m sorry, I know how lame this may sound) I declined most of them. I’ve attended two as a guest, but when the words got flying about at the speed of light, I gave up, shut down and went and had a glass of wine instead.

What I didn’t understand was that I should have just brought my wine to the party. Now Skye Taylor’s party was to celebrate the launch of THE CANDIDATE, a political suspense with a touch of romance and whole lot of political machinations, originally published two elections ago under the title WHATEVER IT TAKES. The fresh new cover and title really give this book the punch and pizazz it has always demanded. If you haven’t read it, go get it! I suspect men and women alike will enjoy this powerful, fast-paced read.

But, back to what I didn’t know – and what I learned. I was an invited author, and as such, the event planner, in this case Skye, sent me detailed instructions on how to send a blast out to my Facebook friends which included a link to the event. Facebook is all set up to handle almost all the rest of it! We each chose a 30-minute segment to keep attendees engaged and entertained and it was so much fun, that when the 3 hours was over, I think we were all sort of disappointed. Like having to go home after a super fun REAL party!

Yes, I got lost twice. Not sure yet what happened, but I kept at it until I was in the right place at the right time. My system, powered by the finest DSL connection money can apparently buy, gets quirky out here in rural Florida, but I kept at it. We all had fun. We answered trivia questions, celebrated the military heroes in our lives, learned a good deal about the lovely state of West Virginia and some interesting facts about dogs, too.

But more importantly for me, I learned that all I had to do was say yes, admit I’d need some tutoring (okay, remedial help may be more accurate) and allow myself to have a really good time meeting new people. And I met some wonderful readers and made some new friends and I know that Skye sold a good number of books in the following days, so I helped a long-time friend, too.

Moral of this story: Don’t be afraid to try new things, no matter how intimidating they may be! And keep in mind that social media is here to stay. It can be our friend when used responsibly. Just like a really good wine.

Keep reading and writing! Nancy Q.

 

About NL Quatrano

Award-winning author, speaker, editor and ghost writer, Nancy owns a full-time editing, writing and specialty publishing business: On-Target Words/WC Publishing. Volunteer/member of professional writing organizations including Florida Writers Assoc., Sisters in Crime, and AWAI. 2010 Professional Woman of the Year by the NAPW. Linked in Editor Pick May 2013. International Women's Leadership Association nominee for Outstanding Leadership 2014.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and Marketing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

